Dog Resources on the Internet

Dog Resources on the Internet

For changes, or to let us know about web links that are no longer functional, please contact lornapaws@aol.com

Medical

10 Dog Poisons: Plants, Foods, Medicines and More http://pets.webmd.com/dogs/guide/top-10-dog-poisons

The Dog Files CPR Chart http://www.thedogfiles.com/2012/02/20/saving-your-pet-with-cpr-infographic/

Vaccines for Dogs http://www.ao.uiuc.edu/courses/ANSC207/week10/vaccines_dogs/index.htm

Vet Info  http://www.vetinfo.com

Dogz Health  http://www.dogzhealth.com/

Dog Health Handbook  http://www.dog-health-handbook.com/

Dog Health Guide  http://www.dog-health-guide.org/

Canine Health  http://www.akcchf.org/canine-health/

Deafness in Dogs and Cats http://www.lsu.edu/deafness/deaf.htm

Canine Miscellany

The Benefits of Owning a Dog charming InfoChart  http://www.thedogfiles.com/2012/03/28/benefits-of-owning-a-dog-infographic/

Where Dogs Come From Info Chart http://www.thedogfiles.com/2010/12/31/where-dogs-come-from-infographic/

The Evolution and Domestication of Dogs  http://www.responsibledog.net/evolution_domestication.html

Searching for the Origin of the Dog – Ethology Lecture http://www.e-trainingfordogs.com/2012/04/searching-for-the-origin-of-the-dog-ethology-lecture-april-2012/

Dog Names  http://www.babydognames.com

US Dog Agility Association http://usdaa.com/

Dog Play and Activities with Links  http://dogplay.com/

Care

ASPCA Dog Care http://www.aspca.org/pet-care

Humane Society  http://www.humanesociety.org/animals/pets

Dog Foods

 Best Dog Foods www.dogfoodadvisor.com/best-dog-foods/

 The 10 Best Dog Food Choices www.old-dog-treats-and-rawhide.com

The Truth About Animal By-Products in Dog Food http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/choosing-dog-food/animal-by-products/

Dog Food Recalls  http://dogfoodchat.com/dog-food-recalls/

Behavior Training

 C-BARQ Assessment Test to Determine Your Dog’s Training Needs http://vetapps.vet.upenn.edu/cbarq/main.cfm

Dog Training and Behavior Resources https://docs.google.com/document/d/1BLKtsxov4XKhbTPBWGVWVHBWP9Yanv4UN19lYB7Zy_M/edit?hl=en_GB

Training Resources  http://www.badrap.org/training-resources

Animal Behavior Resources Institute  http://abrionline.org/

Animal Behavior Society http://www.animalbehavior.org/ABSAppliedBehavior/certified-applied-animal-behaviorists

Dumb Friends League handouts on behavior issues  http://www.ddfl.org/pdf/behavior-handout

Dogstar Daily  http://www.dogstardaily.com/

Dog Behavior  http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/virtual-pet-behaviorist/dog-behavior

Maddie’s Fund Animal Behavior Articles http://www.maddiesfund.org/Maddies_Institute/Articles/Animal_Behavior_Articles.html

Teaching Your Dog Not to Pull on a Leash http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/virtual-pet-behaviorist/dog-behavior/teaching-your-dog-not-pull-leash

How to Train your Dog to Stop Pulling on His Leash http://expertbeacon.com/how-train-your-dog-stop-pulling-their-leash/#.UuZxntIo7IU

Clicker Training  http://www.clickertraining.com

House Training an Adult Dog http://blog.calgaryhumane.ca/housetraining-an-adult-dog/

Interpreting Your Dog’s Barking http://www.trainmypet.net/solving-dog-behavior-problems/how-to-stop-dog-barking/

Association of Pet Dog Trainers http://www.apdt.com/

Understanding How to Show Affection to a Dog http://barkbusterssouthflorida.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/understanding-how-to-show-affection-to-dogs/

Why Dogs Should Never be Hugged http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exssnP9fX1Y

How to Love Your Dog, Believe it or Not! http://doggonesafe.blogspot.com/2012/01/how-to-love-your-dog-believe-it-or-not.html

Dog Problems  http://www.dogproblems.com

Stop Coddling Your Dog – He’s 99% Wolf really interesting article http://qz.com/159513/stop-coddling-your-dog-hes-99-9-wolf/

Dog Body Language

Learn About Dog Body Language  http://www.doggonesafe.com/Speak_Dog

Dog Body Language  http://www.gsdhelp.info/behaviour/bodylanguage.html 

Rescue Dogs Rehabilitation

Behavior Problems Frequently Seen in Rescue Animals http://www.naiaonline.org/articles/article/behavior-problems-frequently-seen-in-rescue-animal

Managing Emotional Problems in Rescue Dogs http://4theloveofanimals.com/blog/2011/07/14/managing-emotional-problems-in-rescue-dogs/

Working with Fearful Dogs www.Fearfuldogs.com

Bringing Home a Shy, Scared, Skittish or Abused Dog http://blog.mysanantonio.com/latrenda/bringing-home-a-shy-scared-skittish-or-abused-dogs/

Teaching Your Shy Dog to Find His Happy Place in the World http://pawderosaranch.com/teaching-your-shy-dog-to-find-his-happy-place-in-the-world/

How to Rehabilitate an Overly Shy Dog http://www.wikihow.com/Rehabilitate-an-Overly-Shy-Dog

Separation Anxiety http://www.petfinder.com/dogs/dog-problems/dog-separation-anxiety/

Resource Guarding Treatment and Prevention http://www.patriciamcconnell.com/theotherendoftheleash/resource-guarding-treatment-and-prevention

Managing the Leash-Reactive Dog http://www.animalhumanesociety.org/behavior/managing-leash-reactive-dog

Rehabilitating Dogs After Abuse http://elisataylor.hubpages.com/hub/Rehabilitating-Dogs-After-Abuse

Rehabilitating an Abused and Neglected Dog http://voices.yahoo.com/rehabilitating-abused-neglected-dog-3972540.html

Adopting an Abused Dog http://www.pet360.com/dog/adoption/adopting-an-abused-dog/mdCIPxLjPkOA_RCUseqzXQ

and http://www.doggies.com/articles/229-adopting-an-abused-dog.html

Abused or Unsocialized? http://www.netplaces.com/dog-training-and-tricks/canine-social-skills/abused-or-unsocialized.htm

Rehabilitation of a Puppy Mill Dog http://www.mchumane.org/RehabilitationofaPuppyMillDog.shtml

I Got a Rescue Dog, Now What?  http://sharerescue.co.uk/?page_id=1386

Senior Dogs

Common Conditions in Senior Dogs and How to Treat Them http://www.healthypets.mercola.com/ sites/healthypets/archive/2011/04/14/common-conditions-in-senior-dogs-and-how-to-treat-them.aspx

The Senior Dog Project  http://www.srdogs.com/Pages/care.fr.html

My Old Dog  http://www.my-old-dog.com/

Association of Pet Loss and Bereavement  http://www.aplb.org/

Dog Breeds

Puppies a nd Dogs breed database with a nice little feature to find the most compatible breed vis-a-vis grooming needs, exercise, etc. http://www.puppiesndogs.com/breeds

Dogtime Dog Breeds  http://www.dogtime.com/dog-breeds

Dog Breed Info  http://www.dogbreedinfo.com

American Kennel Club http://www.akc.org

 

Breed Rescues

Breed Rescue Directory by Breed  http://alldogswelcome.com/breed-specific-rescues.html

Yankee Golden Retriever Rescue  http://www.ygrr.org

Golden Huggs Golden Retriever Rescue  http://www.goldenhuggs.org

National Great Pyrenees Rescue http://www.nationlpyr.org

Bull Dog Club of America http://www.rescuebulldogs.org

 

Dog Magazines and e-zines

Whole Dog Journal. Excellent articles. http://www.whole-dog-journal.com/

The Bark, Highly recommended. An intelligent and interesting periodical.    http://www.thebark.com

Modern Dog http://www.modernmagazine.com

Cesar’s Way. Cesar’s methods are controversial, and my personal opinion is that the magazine is not particularly informative. http://www.cesarsway.com

Dog Fancy http://www.dogfancy.com

Daily Dog  http://www.dailydog.com

Dog Channel http://www.dogchannel.com

Dogster  http://www.dogster.com

Dogwise http://www.dogwise.com

DogStar Daily  http://www.dogstardaily.com/

Dogington Post  http://www.dogingtonpost.com/

The Dog Files  http://www.thedogfiles.com/

Woof Report  http://www.woofreport.com/

The Daily Puppy  http://www.dailypuppy.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements