Dogs and Their Care

Dog Resources on the Internet

For changes, or to let us know about web links that are no longer functional, please contact lornapaws@gmail.com

Medical

10 Dog Poisons: Plants, Foods, Medicines and More

The Dog Files CPR Chart

Vaccines for Dogs

Vet Info

Dogz Health

Dog Health Handbook

Dog Health Guide

Canine Health

CBD Benefits and Uses for Dogs

Deafness in Dogs and Cats

Pet Insurance Comparison

Canine Miscellany

The Benefits of Owning a Dog Infographic

Where Dogs Come From Info Chart

The Evolution and Domestication of Dogs

Searching for the Origin of the Dog – Ethology Lecture

Dog Names

US Dog Agility Association

Dog Play and Activities with Links 

How Much Sleep Do Pets Need?

Grooming

What To Do If Your Dog Gets Sprayed by a Skunk

Minimizing Dog Hair in Your Home

Tips to Minimize Dog Hair

Care

ASPCA Dog Care

Humane Society Care

Dog Foods

Best Dog Foods

The 10 Best Dog Food Choices

The Truth About Animal By-Products in Dog Food

Dog Food Recalls

Behavior Training

C-BARQ Assessment Test to Determine Your Dog’s Training Needs

Dog Training and Behavior Resources

Bad Rap Training Resources

Animal Behavior Resources Institute

Animal Behavior Society

Dumb Friends League handouts on behavior issues

Dogstar Daily

ASPCA Dog Behavior http://www.maddiesfund.org/

Maddie’s Fund Animal Behavior Articles

Teaching Your Dog Not to Pull on a Leash http://www.aspca.org/pet-care/virtual-pet-behaviorist/dog-behavior/teaching-your-dog-not-pull-leash

How to Train your Dog to Stop Pulling on His Leash http://expertbeacon.com/how-train-your-dog-stop-pulling-their-leash/#.UuZxntIo7IU

Clicker Training  http://www.clickertraining.com

House Training an Adult Dog http://blog.calgaryhumane.ca/housetraining-an-adult-dog/

Interpreting Your Dog’s Barking http://www.trainmypet.net/solving-dog-behavior-problems/how-to-stop-dog-barking/

Association of Pet Dog Trainers http://www.apdt.com/

Understanding How to Show Affection to a Dog http://barkbusterssouthflorida.wordpress.com/2011/03/27/understanding-how-to-show-affection-to-dogs/

Why Dogs Should Never be Hugged http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=exssnP9fX1Y

How to Love Your Dog, Believe it or Not! http://doggonesafe.blogspot.com/2012/01/how-to-love-your-dog-believe-it-or-not.html

Dog Problems  http://www.dogproblems.com

Stop Coddling Your Dog – He’s 99% Wolf really interesting article http://qz.com/159513/stop-coddling-your-dog-hes-99-9-wolf/

Dog Body Language

Learn About Dog Body Language  http://www.doggonesafe.com/Speak_Dog

Dog Body Language  http://www.gsdhelp.info/behaviour/bodylanguage.html 

Rescue Dogs Rehabilitation

Behavior Problems Frequently Seen in Rescue Animals http://www.naiaonline.org/articles/article/behavior-problems-frequently-seen-in-rescue-animal

Managing Emotional Problems in Rescue Dogs http://4theloveofanimals.com/blog/2011/07/14/managing-emotional-problems-in-rescue-dogs/

Working with Fearful Dogs www.Fearfuldogs.com

Bringing Home a Shy, Scared, Skittish or Abused Dog http://blog.mysanantonio.com/latrenda/bringing-home-a-shy-scared-skittish-or-abused-dogs/

Teaching Your Shy Dog to Find His Happy Place in the World http://pawderosaranch.com/teaching-your-shy-dog-to-find-his-happy-place-in-the-world/

How to Rehabilitate an Overly Shy Dog http://www.wikihow.com/Rehabilitate-an-Overly-Shy-Dog

Separation Anxiety http://www.petfinder.com/dogs/dog-problems/dog-separation-anxiety/

Resource Guarding Treatment and Prevention http://www.patriciamcconnell.com/theotherendoftheleash/resource-guarding-treatment-and-prevention

Managing the Leash-Reactive Dog http://www.animalhumanesociety.org/behavior/managing-leash-reactive-dog

Rehabilitating Dogs After Abuse http://elisataylor.hubpages.com/hub/Rehabilitating-Dogs-After-Abuse

Rehabilitating an Abused and Neglected Dog http://voices.yahoo.com/rehabilitating-abused-neglected-dog-3972540.html

Adopting an Abused Dog http://www.pet360.com/dog/adoption/adopting-an-abused-dog/mdCIPxLjPkOA_RCUseqzXQ

and http://www.doggies.com/articles/229-adopting-an-abused-dog.html

Abused or Unsocialized? http://www.netplaces.com/dog-training-and-tricks/canine-social-skills/abused-or-unsocialized.htm

Rehabilitation of a Puppy Mill Dog http://www.mchumane.org/RehabilitationofaPuppyMillDog.shtml

I Got a Rescue Dog, Now What?  http://sharerescue.co.uk/?page_id=1386

Senior Dogs

Common Conditions in Senior Dogs and How to Treat Them http://www.healthypets.mercola.com/ sites/healthypets/archive/2011/04/14/common-conditions-in-senior-dogs-and-how-to-treat-them.aspx

The Senior Dog Project  http://www.srdogs.com/Pages/care.fr.html

My Old Dog  http://www.my-old-dog.com/

Association of Pet Loss and Bereavement  http://www.aplb.org/

Dog Breeds

Puppies a nd Dogs breed database with a nice little feature to find the most compatible breed vis-a-vis grooming needs, exercise, etc. http://www.puppiesndogs.com/breeds

Dogtime Dog Breeds  http://www.dogtime.com/dog-breeds

Dog Breed Info  http://www.dogbreedinfo.com

American Kennel Club http://www.akc.org

 

Breed Rescues

Breed Rescue Directory by Breed  http://alldogswelcome.com/breed-specific-rescues.html

Yankee Golden Retriever Rescue  http://www.ygrr.org

Golden Huggs Golden Retriever Rescue  http://www.goldenhuggs.org

National Great Pyrenees Rescue http://www.nationlpyr.org

Bull Dog Club of America http://www.rescuebulldogs.org

 

Dog Magazines and e-zines

Whole Dog Journal. Excellent articles. http://www.whole-dog-journal.com/

The Bark, Highly recommended. An intelligent and interesting periodical.    http://www.thebark.com

Modern Dog http://www.modernmagazine.com

Cesar’s Way. Cesar’s methods are controversial, and my personal opinion is that the magazine is not particularly informative. http://www.cesarsway.com

Dog Fancy http://www.dogfancy.com

Daily Dog  http://www.dailydog.com

Dog Channel http://www.dogchannel.com

Dogster  http://www.dogster.com

Dogwise http://www.dogwise.com

DogStar Daily  http://www.dogstardaily.com/

Dogington Post  http://www.dogingtonpost.com/

The Dog Files  http://www.thedogfiles.com/

Woof Report  http://www.woofreport.com/

The Daily Puppy  http://www.dailypuppy.com/